In the entire state of Arizona, car accidents are widespread. However, the immediate aftermath of an accident can be very perplexing. This article goes through the primary legal requirements that apply to dealing with an automobile accident’s aftermath in Arizona. Under the Arizona car accident statute of limitations, victims of auto accidents only have two years to launch a lawsuit for damages.
Like this, many laws affect your accident claim. It is always recommended to consult with a lawyer as soon as possible after an accident. They are the only person that can answer all your questions. Read this article about the rules for reporting car accidents, how long you have to notify your insurance company after a collision, and more.
Reporting the Vehicle Collision
Individuals involved in auto accidents are not obligated to physically report the incident, according to Arizona law. However, if any of the following has taken place, law enforcement officials are obligated to submit a written report about a car accident:
- An accident
- Deaths if any
- Damage to the property above $1,000
- A ticket is given to any involved drivers
No matter how little or serious the Arizona auto accident is, all parties involved must stay on the site and provide information. It is possible to be charged with a misdemeanor or felony for leaving the scene of an accident in Arizona. For example, a person who damages another car and fails to stop or flees the scene could be prosecuted with a misdemeanor hit-and-run violation. If someone leaves the scene of an accident that results in serious bodily harm or death to another person, they may be prosecuted with felony hit and run.
People who contributed to the crash will probably still be compensated for their losses. The legal system of Arizona is known as “pure comparative negligence.” This means that a person may be entitled to compensation even if they are up to 99 percent to blame for the collision. However, a person’s overall compensation will be lowered according to how much of the occurrence they were to blame for.
Arizona’s Statute of Limitations
Anyone involved in an accident must notify their insurance providers as soon as possible after the collision. Insurance companies have very tight reporting requirements and would not hesitate to delay or even deny a claim if it is not filed on time. In general, Arizona’s personal injury statute of limitations is two years from the date of the injury (ARS 12-542).
A car accident victim who does not file a lawsuit within this period will likely forfeit their chance to pursue legal action against the person or entity responsible for their damages. Therefore, as soon as possible following your accident, get in touch with a personal injury lawyer in Arizona to increase your chances of being awarded compensation.
Using a Phoenix Auto Accident Lawyer
If you or a loved one was hurt in a car accident in Arizona as a result of the carelessness of another motorist, you need to contact a lawyer right once for assistance with your case. A knowledgeable Phoenix auto accident attorney can use their resources to thoroughly examine the occurrence and assist you in finding the proof you need to establish liability. In addition, they will fiercely bargain with insurance carriers to assist you in obtaining the highest possible compensation for your losses.