All You Need To Know About The Independence Day

Independence DayEvery year India celebrates their Independence Day on 15th August. As on August 15th, 1947 India became an independent nation, so annually a gazetted holiday is held to remember this day. The 4th of July is also known as Independence Day, and since 1941 has been a federal holiday in the United States, but the tradition of celebration of Independence Day goes back to the eighteenth century and the American Revolution. 

In 1776, 2nd July, the Continental Congress voted in favor of independence, and two days later delegates from the thirteen colonies adopted the Declaration of Independence, and also a historic document drafted by Thomas Jefferson. From that time to the present, as the birth of American independence, July 4th has been celebrated, with festivities ranging from fireworks, concerts, and parades to more casual barbecues and family gatherings. 


Few colonists desired complete independence from Great Britain, and those who did were considered radical, when the initial battles in the revolutionary war broke out in April 1775. However, by the middle of the year, many more colonists had come to favor independence, thanks to the spread of revolutionary sentiments and growing hostility against Britain such as those expressed in the bestselling pamphlet “common sense,” which was published in early 1776 by Thomas Paine.

On 7th June, the Virginia delegate Richard Henry Lee introduced a motion calling for the colonies’ independence, when the continental congress met at the Pennsylvania State House in Philadelphia.

Amid heated debate, the continental Congress postponed the vote on Lee’s resolution but appointed a committee of five-man, including John Adams of Massachusetts, Thomas Jefferson of Virginia, Benjamin Franklin of Pennsylvania, Roger Sherman of Connecticut, and Robert R. Livingston of New York —to draft a formal document justifying the break with Great Britain.

On 2nd July, the Continental Congress voted in favor of Lee’s resolution for independence in a near-unanimous vote. John Adams to his wife Abigail wrote that 2nd July “will be celebrated, by succeeding Generations, as the great anniversary Festival.” 

On 4th July, officially the Congress adopted the declaration of independence, which had been written largely by Jefferson. Though the vote for actual independence took place on 2nd July, from then on the 4th became the day of celebration as the birth of American independence.

On the eve of independence day, the president of India delivers the ‘”Address to the Nation.” The Prime Minister of India holds a speech and unfurls India’s flag at the Red Fort in Old Delhi. Cultural programs and Flag hoisting ceremonies are held in the state capitals and often involve many organizations and schools.

Online, broadcast, and print media may have special programs, contests, and articles to promote independence day. National, local, and state government offices, banks, and post offices are closed on this day.

The national flag of India is a horizontal tricolor of deep saffron (kesaria) at the top, dark green at the bottom and white in the middle in equal proportion. The ratio of the flag’s width to its length is 2 to 3. And also a navy-blue wheel of the white band in the center represents the chakra.